Thursday 04 April 2013 Written by: Adam

Powell, who scored a try on his home debut against Jersey last week, is named in a strong Falcons outfit that sees eight changes.

Grant Shiells, Rob Vickers and Kieran Brookes all make way for Jonny Golding, Matt Thompson and James Hall in the front-row, while Scott MacLeod replaces the cup-tied James Goode in the second-row.

Taiasina Tu’ifua returns to the back-row following suspension.

Stand in skipper Ally Hogg rounds off the changes in the pack as the North East outfit look to continue their fine form upfront.

In the backline Jamie Helleur replaces Alex Crockett at centre while Jimmy Gopperth comes in for Joel Hodgson at No. 10.

Promising prop Scott Wilson is named amongst the replacements, while Alex Tait is also on the bench after recovering from an ankle injury.

“The cup competition has been very important for our development in the league, and now that we have reached this stage, we want to win the thing,” said head coach Peter Russell.

“Winning the British and Irish Cup is what we want to do – people say it would be good to make the semi-finals but for us it is about making the final and winning the trophy,” added Russell.

Enthusiastic at what lies ahead for his troops this season, Russell said: “It is an exciting time for us at the moment.

“The quarter-final has been a long time coming with the six round robin games, but it is here now and we are very much looking forward to the challenge that Nottingham will bring.

“The match is huge for us, and the boys love playing in front of their own fans, and they know the pitch very well.

“The pitch is in great condition, and I think you will see a style of rugby that we have been working on for a good number of months.”

You can hear more from Russell on Falcons TV a little bit later today, while you can currently watch our interview with Powell ahead of the match by clicking here.

Tickets for the game are £10 adults and £5 kids by calling the Falcons Ticket Hotline on 0871 226 6060 or click here to purchase online.

**Newcastle Falcons**: 15 Tom Catterick, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Adam Powell, 12 Jamie Helleur, 11 Ryan Shortland, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Warren Fury, 1 Jonny Golding, 2 Matt Thompson, 3 James Hall, 4 Sean Tomes, 5 Scott MacLeod, 6 Taiasina Tu’ifua, 7 Mark Wilson, 8 Ally Hogg (c)

**Replacements**: 16 Michael Mayhew, 17 Scott Wilson, 18 Richard Mayhew, 19 Ollie Stedman, 20 Jordi Pasqualin, 21 Joel Hodgson, 22 Alex Tait