Deehan named in Scotland U20s match day squad

Thursday 30 June 2022 Written by: Adam

Deehan is selected on the bench as Head Coach Kenny Murray named his side to face Italy tonight in the second round of the Under-20 Summer Series game (**Kick off 7pm BST**).

Murray made a total of seven changes to his starting line-up who were defeated by Wales in the opening round.

Speaking ahead of the game, Murray said: “Whilst the result and performance against Wales was deeply disappointing, there were some positives to take from the second half and from the performances of some of the youngest members of our squad.

“Selection for this game against Italy has reflected that, with Afshar and Cunningham we thought they finished the game strongly last time out so we give them a chance to show what they can do from the off in this game.

“Whilst we’ve made a change to the front row, we’ve stuck with the same starting back five in the scrum to provide some much needed experience against what we know will be a physical Italian outfit.”

**Full Squad**

15 Gabe Jones (Brunel University/Ealing Trailfinders)

14 Ross McKnight (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)

13 Duncan Munn (Boroughmuir Bears)

12 Andy Stirrat (Ayrshire Bulls)

11 Kerr Johnston (Gala RFC)

10 Euan Cunningham (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)

9 Ben Afshar (Southern Knights)

1 Iain Carmichael (Boroughmuir Bears)

2 Patrick Harrison (Watsonians RFC/Edinburgh Rugby)

3 Gregor Scougall (Watsonians RFC)

4 Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders)

5 Max Williamson (Glasgow Warriors)

6 Liam McConnell (Boroughmuir Bears)

7 Rhys Tait – Captain (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors)

8 Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Duncan Hood (Bath University)

17 James Lascelles (Gloucester Rugby/Hartpury College)

18 Ali Rogers (Ayrshire Bulls)

19 Jake Spurway (Stirling County/Durham University)

20 Rudi Brown (Southern Knights/Edinburgh Rugby)

21 Finlay Burgess (Stirling County)

22 Christian Townsend (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)

23 Keiran Clark (Southern Knights)

24 **Matthew Deehan (Newcastle Falcons)**

25 Gregor Hiddleston (Stirling County)

26 Ben Salmon (Stirling County)

Every game of the Under 20 Summer Series will be streamed via the **[Six Nations Rugby U20 YouTube channel.][1]**