Exeter A 50 Falcons A 14

Monday 23 April 2018 Written by: Adam

The visitors trailed 24-0 at half-time, Exeter now moving on to face Northern Conference winners Northampton Wanderers in next Monday’s final.

Exeter opened the scoring at Sandy Park through winger Tom O’Flaherty after just five minutes, Michele Campagnaro adding the second try when the Italian international crossed on 16 minutes.

Max Bodilly dotted down try number three when he charges down a Falcons clearance kick, centre Tom Hendrickson pouncing for the fourth as they assumed a comfortable interval advantage.

The Falcons fought back somewhat after the half-time break, enjoying a sustained period of pressure near the Braves’ line which ended with hooker Jamie Blamire scoring their first try.

Brett Connon converted, but the home side hit back when Tom Lawday scored from the scrum base to get them past the 30 mark.

Flaherty’s second and a driving maul try from flanker Matt Kvesic ensured the result was never in doubt, Newcastle scoring their second and final try just after the hour mark when full-back Cameron Cowell scored from inside his own half after returning a downfield kick.

Fly-half Connon converted, but the Braves had the last say when Toby Salmon scored from another close-range catch and drive.

**Newcastle Falcons:** 15 Cameron Cowell, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Tom Penny, 12 Dominic Waldouck (captain), 11 George Wacokecoke, 10 Brett Connon, 9 James Elliott (Leeds Beckett); 1 Adam Brocklebank, 2 Jamie Blamire, 3 Jack Payne, 4 Andrew Davidson, 5 Nick Civetta, 6 Morgan Eames (Doncaster), 7 Callum Chick, 8 Max Davies.

**Replacements:** 16 Mike Newstead (Northumbria University), 17 Conrad Cade (Leeds Beckett), 18 Jake Ilnicki, 19 Will Montgomery (Junior Academy), 20 Tom Marshall (Junior Academy), 21 Craig Willis, 22 Joel Matavesi, 23 Charlie Wilson.

**Exeter Braves:** 15 Max Bodilly, 14 James Short, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Tom Hendrickson, 11 Tom O’Flaherty, 10 Sam Morley, 9 Will Chudley; 1 Moray Low, 2 Shaun Malton, 3 Marcus Street, 4 Toby Salmon, 5 Wilhelm Van Der Sluys, 6 James Freeman (captain), 7 Matt Kvesic, 8 Tom Lawday.

**Replacements:** 16 Jack Innard, 17 Billy Keast, 18 Jack Owlett, 19 Sean Lonsdale, 20 Josh Caulfield, 21 Joe Snow, 22 Harvey Skinner, 23 Harry Strong.