Falcons named in England under 18s side

Saturday 07 March 2015 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons Academy Full Back Jonny McPhillips and Flanker Joe Craggs have been named among the England Under 18 side that will face Scotland at Kingston Park Stadium tomorrow.

Craggs, a member of the Falcons AASE Scheme at Gosforth Academy, and McPhillips, who currently studies at Sedburgh School, will line up at their home ground alongside players from other Aviva Premiership and Championship clubs for the international fixture.

Speaking to the RFU website, England Forwards Coach Pete Walton said: “We’re really excited about this game – it will be the first time a number of these lads have worn the England Under 18 shirt and we’re looking forward to seeing them in action.

“Scotland will come at us with plenty of passion, but we are just as passionate. We’ve prepared well and we want to put in a good performance.

“It will be a great experience for the lads to play at a Premiership stadium in front of a strong crowd and we hope that plenty of people stay after the Falcons game to cheer us on.”

Kicking off at 5.30pm, the Under 18s international match will take place shortly after the Falcons play Leicester Tigers in the Aviva Premiership (ko 3pm) on the same pitch.

Anyone with a ticket to tomorrow’s Aviva Premiership game will be invited to stay on and watch the international fixture at no extra cost, although fans will be asked to move into the West Stand on an unreserved basis following the end of the Falcons’ match.

Tickets for Sunday’s double-header fixture are still available to buy [online][1], in person from the Kingston Park Box Office or by calling the Falcons’ 24 hour Ticket Hotline on 0871 226 6060 starting from £15 for adults and £7.50 for juniors.

**England Under 18 starting XV against Scotland:**
15 Jonny McPhillips (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School)
14 Darren Atkins (Bath Rugby, Millfield School)
13 Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry’s)
12 Max Malins (Saracens, Felsted)
11 Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins, Wellington College)
10 Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish, Abingdon School, captain)
9 Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs, Blundells School)

1 Jake Pope (Sale Sharks, Myerscough College)
2 Dan Frost (Bath Rugby, Filton College)
3 Jack Stanley (Exeter Chiefs, Truro College)
4 Josh Caulfied (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College)
5 Tim Cardall (Northampton Saints, Moulton College)
6 Joe Craggs (Newcastle Falcons, Gosforth Academy)
7 Will Allman (Northampton Saints, Trent College)
8 Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby, Merchiston Castle School)

16 Joe Mullis (Gloucester Rugby, Chosen Hill)
17 Ollie Dawe (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College)
18 Charlie Capps (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry’s)
19 Archie White (Harlequins, Epsom College)
20 William Evans (Leicester Tigers, Wyggeston & QEI College)
21 Alexander Mitchell (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS)
22 Mark Dixon (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS)
23 Sam Yawayawa (Leicester Tigers, Wyggeston & QEI College)

[1]: http://www.newcastlefalcons.co.uk/Pages/Tickets/info