Falcons ring changes to conclude LV= Cup campaign

Friday 06 February 2015 Written by: Adam

The team to face London Irish shows a total of 14 changes to the team that ran out 39-19 winners over Sale Sharks at Kingston Park last weekend with Eric Fry and Scott MacLeod the two unchanged names.

In a completely overhauled backline, Simon Hammersley swaps his bench spot against Sale with Alex Tait, while Samoan duo Sinoti Sinoti and Alesana Tuilagi take over the wing berths held by Lee Smith and Danny Barnes last week.

Adam Powell and Juan Pablo Socino line up in their familiar centre positions while the half back pairing of Mike Blair and Tom Catterick comes in for Ruki Tipuna and Rory Clegg.

Joining Eric Fry in the front row of the pack, a pair of Scott’s return to the fray with Scott Lawson at hooker and Scott Wilson making his first appearance at since December at tight head.

In the second row, Calum Green replaces Josh Furno who is away on Six Nations duty with Italy and packs down alongside Scott Macleod, while the Falcons back row sees Mark Wilson, captain Will Welch and Ally Hogg come in for Richard Mayhew, Andy Saull and Uili Kolo’ofai.

On the bench, front row cover comes in the shape of Rob’s Hawkins, Vickers and Alex Rogers, while Dom Barrow may be in line for his first competitive reaction after recovering from injury.

Richard Mayhew will be on hand to provide impetuous if needed from the 20 shirt while Andy Davies, Alex Tait and Jamie Helleur provide the additional back line options.

**Newcastle Falcons v
London Irish – 7/2/2015 KO 3pm**

15 Simon Hammersley, 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Adam Powell, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Tom Catterick, 9 Mike Blair, 1 Eric Fry, 2 Scott Lawson, 3 Scott Wilson, 4 Calum Green, 5 Scott MacLeod, 6 Mark Wilson, 7 Will Welch, (C) 8 Ally Hogg

16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Rob Vickers, 18 Alex Rogers, 19 Dom Barrow, 20 Richard Mayhew, 21 Andy Davies, 22 Alex Tait, 23 Jamie Helleur