Gosforth and Falcons in joint celebration

Monday 24 April 2017 Written by: Adam

A packed West Stand played host to the event as Gosforth and Falcons players, members and officials united in recognition of their inter-twined heritage.

A fun evening in the best traditions of rugby was enjoyed by all, and the club’s rich rugby tradition was emphasised by the quality of inductees to the Newcastle Rugby Hall of Fame.

Joining the list of luminaries in the hall of fame was Malcolm Stokoe, captain of Gosforth from 1968-70 and giving more than 50 years of devoted service to the club as a player, coach and administrator.

John Short, a member of the 1976 John Player Cup-winning team, was also inducted, the long-time club official currently serving as chairman, chairman of rugby and first team touch judge.

The third Gosforth member earning a place in the Newcastle Rugby Hall of Fame was Ken Lockerbie, a player in the 1950s and 60s who became an RFU panel referee before serving the club in numerous administrative roles including president, honorary club secretary and chairman of the board of management during the club’s 1995 takeover by Sir John Hall.

Newcastle Falcons added a further two players to the hall of fame, with World Cup winners Jonny Wilkinson and Matthew Burke winning a supporters’ vote.

They join existing members Rob Andrew, Roger Uttley, Wilfred Farr, Inga Tuigamala and J Stanley Armstrong in the Newcastle Rugby Hall of Fame.

Newcastle Falcons would like to thank the many members and officials who helped make this memorable evening possible, notably Kingsley Hyland, Neil Jamieson and Malcolm Bell.