Hodge on England Under-20s bench

Wednesday 13 March 2019 Written by: Adam

The match at Northampton’s Franklin’s Gardens is a 7.45pm kick-off and will be shown live in the UK on Sky Sports.

Hodge has started all four of England’s games in this year’s Six Nations and was given man of the match during last weekend’s 35-10 win over Italy.

England have won two of their four matches, beating France and Italy at home and losing away to Ireland and Wales.

England Under-20s head coach Steve Bates said after making eight changes to his team to face Scotland: “We feel this Friday is a good opportunity to take a closer look at the players who have not had that much involvement during the tournament, while also including those that are returning from Premiership duty.

“We are mindful that making too many changes will be disruptive so we’ve tried to keep them to a minimum.

“We are still developing our game and have very clear goals in terms of what we want to achieve on the field in terms of performance. What we’re looking for on Friday is a bit more continuity in our play and more consistency in our performance in terms of looking after the ball and managing the game.

“We’ve used a lot of players in the tournament and feel that will be beneficial for us going into the World Rugby U20 Championship in June. We can only take 28 players to the World Rugby U20 Championship and selection is going to be very difficult, so for them every opportunity they have to impress us is an important one.”

**England Under-20s:**

15 Tom de Glanville (Bath Rugby)

14 Arron Reed (Sale Sharks)

13 Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors)

12 Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks)

11 Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish)

10 Manu Vunipola (Saracens)

9 Ollie Fox (Yorkshire Carnegie)

1 Kai Owen (Worcester Warriors)

2 Samson Ma’asi (Northampton Saints)

3 Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)

4 Alex Coles (Northampton Saints)

5 James Scott (Worcester Warriors)

6 Tom Willis (Wasps)

7 Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester Rugby)

8 Rusiate Tuima (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Alfie Barbeary (Wasps)

17 Olly Adkins (Gloucester Rugby)

18 Alfie Petch (Exeter Chiefs)

19 Jon Kpoku (Saracens)

20 Richard Capstick (Exeter Chiefs)

21 Gus Warr (Sale Sharks)

22 Kieran Wilkinson (Sale Sharks)

23 Josh Hodge (Newcastle Falcons)