Hogg and Vickers sign off at World Club 10s

Friday 01 June 2018 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons legends Rob Vickers and Ally Hogg will bring the curtain down on their illustrious careers in the paradise setting of Mauritius this June, as the club announce a 16-man squad for the 2018 Beachcomber World Club 10s.

Vickers and Hogg are included in a roster that boasts a balance of youth and experience as the Falcons look to make an impact on their first appearance at the invitational tournament on the Indian Ocean island nation.

Joining the duo in the contingent of forwards, new signing Connor Collett is set for his first involvement in Falcons colours alongside Jamie Blamire, Ryan Burrows, Andrew Davidson, Jack Payne and Glen Young.

The strength in selection continues into the backs, with plenty of natural pace and youthful exuberance as Brett Connon, Cameron Cowell, Zach Kibirige, Tom Penny, Adam Radwan, Ben Stevenson, Sam Stuart and Charlie Wilson board the plane.

Taking part in Mauritius for the third year the Beachcomber World Club 10s is a tournament where the rules are similar to the 15-a-side fame but with some of the time-saving adaptations of 7s.

As the name implies, matches are played with 10 players on the field at a time and are made up of two 10-minute halves with a two-minute halftime.

Teams are made up of five forwards (three in the front row, and two in the second row), with five backs, allowing the format to retain the traditional virtues of rugby as a game for all shapes and sizes, and ensures that specialist positions of the XVs format are showcased in a shortened format.

Newcastle Falcons director of rugby Dean Richards said: “The Beachcomber World Club 10s is a great opportunity for us to spread the club’s name to a new part of the world.

“For those players lucky enough to go it will see them experiencing a stunning setting, and it will offer some of our squad members the chance for some valuable game time.”
Newcastle Falcons squad

**Beachcomber World Club 10s
15-17 June 2018**

**Forwards** – Jamie Blamire, Ryan Burrows, Connor Collett, Andrew Davidson, Ally Hogg, Jack Payne, Rob Vickers, Glen Young

**Backs** – Brett Connon, Cameron Cowell, Zach Kibirige, Tom Penny, Adam Radwan, Ben Stevenson, Sam Stuart, Charlie Wilson