Johnson named on the bench for England U20s

Tuesday 30 May 2023 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons’ Louie Johnson is named on the bench for Mark Mapletoft’s England Under-20s side to take on Georgia Under-20s this Thursday in Tbilisi.

The fixture is the second of their two-match two in Georgia and will be the final game before the World Rugby U20 Championship starting next month.

In the series’ opening match, England claimed a hard-fought 41-36 win with Johnson assisting a score with some great interplay.

Thursday’s match kicks off at 13:00 BST (16:00 local time) at Avchala Rugby Stadium in Tbilisi and will be streamed on the Georgian Rugby Facebook page.

England U20s head coach Mark Mapletoft said: “Our first match against Georgia was tough; they were physical in their tackles, and some of their tries showed they have as much strike power out wide as they do through the forwards. Equally though, I was really pleased with the composure our players showed to stay in the contest and close out the match. Our bench had a real impact.

“The players learned a lot from Saturday’s match, which is why we’re on this tour. Our attention now turns to game two in what will be our final hit-out ahead of the World Rugby U20 Championship and we know we’ll have to put together a more complete performance in two days’ time.”


15 Joe Jenkins (Bristol Bears),
14 Jacob Cusick (Leicester Tigers),
13 Rekeiti Ma’asi-White (Sale Sharks), 12 Joseph Woodward (Leicester Tigers),
11 Alex Wills (Sale Sharks),
10 Connor Slevin (Harlequins),
9 Charlie Bracken (Saracens),
1 Asher Opoku-Fordjour (Sale Sharks),
2 Finn Theobald-Thomas (Gloucester),
3 Afolabi Fasogbon (London Irish),
4 Harvey Cuckson (Bath Rugby),
5 Lewis Chessum (Leicester Tigers),
6 Finn Carnduff (Leicester Tigers),
7 Greg Fisilau (Exeter Chiefs),
8 Chandler Cunningham-South (London Irish).


16 Nathan Jibulu (Harlequins),
17 Ethan Clarke (Harlequins),
18 James Halliwell (Bristol Bears),
19 Zach Carr (Harlequins),
20 Nathan Michelow (Saracens),
21 Nye Thomas (Sale Sharks),
22 Benjamin Waghorn (Harlequins),
23 Toby Thame (Northampton Saints),
**24 Louie Johnson (Newcastle Falcons)**.