Thursday 06 February 2014 Written by: Adam

The 32-year-old hooker, who arrived on Tyneside last summer, has been named on the bench for the mouth-watering contest.

Making 14 appearances for Newcastle Falcons this term, Lawson has been a cornerstone of the front-row throughout this campaign to earn himself a call-up to the national team.

“I’m delighted to be back involved in the Scotland squad, and there is no better occasion than to play against England in a Calcutta match at Murrayfield,” said Lawson.

“I’ve been relatively pleased with my form for Newcastle this season, and as a result it has given me the opportunity to be selected,” he added.

Scotland have made three changes to the side that took on Ireland at the Aviva Stadium last weekend with flanker Chris Fusaro making his Scotland debut in place of skipper Kelly Brown.

Meanwhile Tommy Seymour will enjoy his first championship experience as he comes in for his injured Glasgow Warriors team-mate Sean Maitland on the wing, while Matt Scott, the Edinburgh Rugby centre, is promoted from the bench with Duncan Taylor now among the substitutes.

Greig Laidlaw resumes the role of captaincy that he has now undertaken on three occasions, twice against South Africa and once against Italy.

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson said it had been a “difficult” decision to omit Brown but that Fusaro’s skills as a ball-winner on the deck had been key in the selectors’ deliberations.

“Fusaro is picked to do a certain role and we believe there’s an opportunity for him to do it. England are powerful, they have an edge to their side and are assertive and aggressive. They will probably consider themselves unlucky last weekend but it’s not always brute force that wins these games.”

**Scotland XV:** Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh, capt.), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Montpellier), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors), David Denton (Edinburgh)

**Replacements:** Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Max Evans (Castres)