Mark Wilson heading to Rugby World Cup

Monday 12 August 2019 Written by: Adam

The Newcastle Falcons flanker will join Sale Sharks on loan for the 2019-20 season at the culmination of the Rugby World Cup before re-joining the Falcons in the summer of 2020.

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “Today is another step in the progress towards the Rugby World Cup.

“We have taken the decision to go early because of what we learned from previous campaigns. We want the squad to know early and now we can get on and be the best prepared England side there has ever been, ready to win the World Cup.”

England open their tournament campaign against Tonga on Sunday September 22 (11.15am UK time), before meeting USA on Thursday September 26 (11.45am UK time).

The third round of pool action sees England meeting Argentina on Saturday October 5 (9am UK time) before the group phase concludes against France on Saturday October 12 (9.15am UK time).

England’s warm-up matches continue this Saturday when they meet Wales in Cardiff (2.15pm), followed by Ireland at Twickenham on Saturday August 24 (3pm) and Italy at Newcastle’s St James’ Park on Friday September 6 (7.45pm).

**England’s official Rugby World Cup squad**


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 86 caps)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 11 caps)

Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 10 caps)

Jamie George (Saracens, 37 caps)

Maro Itoje (Saracens, 27 caps)

George Kruis (Saracens, 32 caps)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 59 caps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 72 caps)

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)

Joe Marler (Harlequins, 58 caps)

Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 22 caps)

Jack Singleton (Saracens, 1 cap)

Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 42 caps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps)

Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 13 caps)


Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 5 caps)

Elliot Daly (Saracens, 31 caps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 70 caps)

George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 56 caps)

Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)

Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 41 caps)

Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 45 caps)

Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 22 caps)

Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 33 caps)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 34 caps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 86 caps)