No relegation from Gallagher Premiership this season

Friday 12 February 2021 Written by: Adam

The collaborative agreement across the RFU, Championship and Premiership Rugby sees the top-flight competition expanded to 13 teams from next season.

There will be no relegation from the top-flight into the Championship at the end of the 2020-21 season and no relegation from the Championship into National One. Promotion into the Gallagher Premiership remains for the winner of the Championship.

Darren Childs, chief executive of Premiership Rugby said: “We welcome today’s decision and thank the RFU Council members for their support.

“The priority for everyone involved has been to protect the long-term sustainability and success of English professional rugby for the fans and clubs who have endured huge financial and sporting challenges throughout the last two seasons.

“The progress being made collaboratively with all our key stakeholders across the sport has been fantastic.

“Our focus remains on continuing to strengthen that alignment through transparency and dialogue around the long-term success of the game at a domestic and national level in England.”