Premiership Rugby Cup starts this Sunday

Wednesday 24 October 2018 Written by: Adam

Formerly known as the Anglo-Welsh Cup, the competition will now proceed without the four Welsh teams and will be contested by the 12 Gallagher Premiership clubs.

Unlike in previous seasons clubs will play against the three teams in their own pool, which for Newcastle Falcons means Exeter Chiefs, Harlequins and Bath Rugby, although there is added spice with a special ‘derby day’ in round four where each club will play a local rival from a different group.

The pool draw is as follows:

**POOL 1:** Bath Rugby, Exeter Chiefs, Harlequins, Newcastle Falcons.

**POOL 2:** Leicester Tigers, Sale Sharks, Saracens, Worcester Warriors.

**POOL 3:** Bristol Bears, Gloucester Rugby, Northampton Saints, Wasps.

At the end of the four group rounds the three pool winners and one best runner-up will proceed through to the semi-finals.

The best runner-up will be determined by (in order), league points, most wins, points difference, tries and disciplinary record (red cards).

The four qualifying clubs will be seeded 1 to 4 based on league points, then wins, points difference, points for and tries, with the semi-finals lining up as follows:

Seed 1 at home to Seed 4

Seed 2 at home to Seed 3

The final will be held at the home ground of the finalist team which finished with the highest seeding in the pool stages.

Newcastle Falcons’ four pool games are listed below, with both home matches included in the price of your 2018-19 season ticket membership. Non-season ticket members can book by calling 0871 226 6060, [**clicking here**][1] or from the stadium box office in person.


**Sun Oct 28:** v Exeter Chiefs (home, 3pm)

**Sun Nov 4:** v Harlequins (away, 3pm)

**Fri Nov 9:** v Bath Rugby (home, 7.45pm)

**Feb 1/2/3:** v Sale Sharks (away, kick-off TBC)

**Feb 8/9/10:** Semi-finals

**Mar 15/16/17:** Final