Team news: A-Team for tonight’s Shield final

Monday 13 May 2019 Written by: Adam

The Falcons earned home advantage as a result of being the competition’s top seeds during the round-robin stage, beating Exeter Braves 54-12 in last week’s semi-final.

Tonight’s game sees just one personnel change from that team, England Under-20s star Josh Hodge replacing George Wacokecoke. Hodge comes into the team on the wing, with Ben Stevenson pushing one place to outside centre.

There is free parking and free entry for all supporters via the East Stand, with the Tap & Tackle bar open for drinks and refreshments before, during and after the game.

Tonight’s match is being shown live in the UK on FreeSports TV, which is available on the following platforms and channel numbers: Freeview 64, Virgin 553, Sky 422, Freesat 252, TalkTalkTV 64 and BT TV 64. There will also be live radio commentary via the BBC Rugby website.

Falcons academy manager Mark Laycock said: “The boys are all buzzing about being in the final, and especially with it being at home.

“They’re professional sportsmen, they all want to win a competition and we’ll put our best foot forward to hopefully repeat the performance level we showed in the semi-final.

“Everything came together as we’d hoped it would in the semi-final, the boys exerted a huge amount of energy and emotion, and you could see that from the performance.”

Expecting a stern test from a Saracens side who enjoyed an emphatic semi-final victory over Northampton, he added: “From the analysis we’ve done it looks like Saracens’ A-Team plays very much the same way as their first team, which as we have seen over the weekend at St James’ Park has been very successful for them.

“Monday night footy can be a little bit more free-flowing along with that structure, and it should be a decent game for anyone who wants to come along and watch.”

**Newcastle Falcons A-Team to face Saracens Storm (Monday, 8pm, Kingston Park Stadium)**

15 Tim Swiel

14 Adam Radwan

13 Ben Stevenson

12 Pedro Bettencourt

11 Josh Hodge

10 Brett Connon

9 Sam Stuart (captain)

1 Adam Brocklebank

2 Kyle Cooper

3 Rodney Ah You

4 Glen Young

19 Will Witty

6 Jamie Blamire

7 Connor Collett

8 Simon Uzokwe


16 Santiago Socino

17 Sami Mavinga

18 Oscar Caudle

5 Tevita Cavubati

20 Rob Farrar

21 Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti

22 Tom Marshall

23 Joel Matavesi

**Saracens Storm**

15 Matt Gallagher

14 Elliott Obatoyinbo

13 Dom Morris

12 Tom Griffiths

11 Rotimi Segun

10 Manu Vunipola

9 Tom Whiteley

1 Hayden Thompson-Stringer

2 Tom Woolstencroft

3 Christian Judge

4 Dom Day

5 Joel Kpoku

6 Andy Christie

7 Ben Earl

8 Sione Vailanu


16 Christopher Tolofua

17 Sam Crean

18 Billy Walker

19 Cameron Boon

20 Sean Reffell

21 Henry Taylor

22 Charlie Watson

23 Reuben Bird-Tulloch

**Referee:** Richard Haughton