Team news: Arscott to debut against Nottingham

Friday 10 August 2018 Written by: Adam

The 3pm kick-off will be played over three periods of 30 minutes, with the extended playing time allowing both clubs to offer game time to a larger number of their players.

Full-back Arscott is among a handful of potential debutants, flanker Connor Collett starting on the openside after representing the Falcons in the World Club 10s and the Premiership 7s following his summer move from New Zealand province, North Harbour.

Fiji lock Tevita Cavubati starts after recovering from the injury which ruled him out of his country’s Pacific Nations Cup campaign, Callum Chick captaining the side for the opening period on a day when mass changes will see the forward packs and back lines replaced as a unit.

Former London Irish centre Johnny Williams will be among the debutants when director of rugby Dean Richards turns to his extended bench, Richards saying: “The boys have been working hard during pre-season training, and looking forward to this first run-out.

“As always it will be a case of trying a few things, testing a number of combinations, all with a view of being ready for the start of the Gallagher Premiership at home to Saracens on September 2.”

Tickets for Saturday’s game for non-season ticket members are available by [**clicking here**][1], calling 0871 226 6060 or from the stadium on the day, priced £10 for adults and concessions, and £5 for under-16s.

Season ticket members can collect their renewal packs from the gazebo outside the ticket office prior to the game. Those not collected on the day will be posted out next week.

**Newcastle Falcons team to face Nottingham**

15 Tom Arscott

14 Adam Radwan

13 Pedro Bettencourt

12 Josh Matavesi

11 George Wacokecoke

10 Joel Hodgson

9 Sam Stuart

1 Adam Brocklebank

2 Jamie Blamire

3 Jack Payne

4 Tevita Cavubati

5 Calum Green

6 Andrew Davidson

7 Connor Collett

8 Callum Chick (captain)


1 Sami Mavinga

2 Santiago Socino

3 Trevor Davison

4 Will Witty

5 Glen Young

6 Gary Graham

7 Simon Uzokwe

8 Tom Marshall

9 James Elliott

10 Toby Flood

11 Ben Stevenson

12 Charlie Wilson

13 Dominic Waldouck

14 Zach Kibirige

15 Alex Tait

19 Will Montgomery

20 Johnny Williams

21 Brett Connon

22 Tom Penny

23 Simon Hammersley


15 Sean Scanlon

14 David William

13 Joe Cobden

12 Luke Peters

11 Jack Spittle

10 Will Millett

9 Murray McConnell

1 James Penman

2 Ben Brownlie

3 Mike Daniels

4 Llewelyn Jones

5 Danny Qualter

6 Shane Buckley

7 Will Owen

8 Jordan Coghlan


16 Jake Farnworth

17 Aniseko Sio

18 Oisin Heffernan

19 Seb Cecil

20 Josh Poullet

21 Alex Crocker

22 Will Sutton

23 Luke Cole

24 Cecil MacCarthy

25 Will Cardall

26 George Cox

**Referee:** Jack Makepeace