Team news: Brown to make debut at Glasgow

Thursday 02 September 2021 Written by: Adam

The two-time Gallagher Premiership title winner starts at full-back for the Scotstoun Stadium clash, which is a 7pm kick-off.

Former Harlequins team-mate Ollie Lindsay-Hague starts on the wing following his recent arrival from the Team GB 7s squad at the Tokyo Olympics, while former rugby league player Iwan Stephens makes his first team debut on the other wing.

The Falcons’ bench includes potential club debuts for former Connacht prop Conor Kenny, ex-Ulster back-five forward Matthew Dalton and former Worcester lock George Merrick, while senior academy players James Blackett, Oscar Caudle, Mark Dormer, Marcus Tiffen, Ewan Greenlaw and Louie Johnson are all in line to make their first-team bows.

The match is the first of two games in two days for Newcastle, who play host to Doncaster Knights on Saturday at Kingston Park Stadium (kick-off 3pm).

Director of rugby Dean Richards said: “We know we can expect a good, hard test up in Glasgow, and it’s the ideal way in which to start our schedule of pre-season matches.

“This time of year is less about results and more about putting the parts of our game into practice – ensuring we’re ready for the start of the Premiership season.

“The boys have been working hard during pre-season training, we’re putting some building blocks in place and it’ll be great to see how we can knit it all together against a good side in a match scenario.”

**Newcastle Falcons team to face Glasgow Warriors (Friday, 7pm, Scotstoun Stadium):**

15 Mike Brown, 14 Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 13 George Wacokecoke, 12 Pete Lucock, 11 Iwan Stephens, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Sam Stuart; 1 Adam Brocklebank, 2 George McGuigan, 3 Mark Tampin, 4 Marco Fuser, 5 Philip van der Walt, 6 Josh Basham, 7 Will Welch, 8 Callum Chick.

**Replacements:** 16 Robbie Smith, 17 Kyle Cooper, 18 Conor Kenny, 19 Matthew Dalton, 20 Carl Fearns, 21 James Blackett, 22 Will Haydon-Wood, 23 Ben Stevenson, [blank shirts]: Mark Dormer, Oscar Caudle, George Merrick, Freddie Lockwood, Marcus Tiffen, Ewan Greenlaw, Louie Johnson.