Team news: Falcons side to face Leinster

Thursday 16 August 2018 Written by: Adam

The match takes place on the 3G surface at Dublin’s Energia Park (formerly Donnybrook) with a 7pm kick-off, Newcastle looking to build on last Saturday’s 47-26 home win over Championship side Nottingham.

Director of rugby Dean Richards has opted for a squad of 30 for Friday’s match, Toby Flood coming in at fly-half in a back line which sees the return of Zach Kibirige on the wing.

Flanker Connor Collett and wing Tom Arscott are the only two summer signings to be named in the starting XV, with the Falcons’ 15-man bench including fellow new arrivals George McGuigan and Johnny Williams.

Richards said: “Friday’s game will offer a great test for us in the second of our pre-season run-outs and will be valuable preparation ahead of the start of the Gallagher Premiership at home to Saracens on September 2.

“As Champions Cup holders and Pro 14 champions Leinster’s calibre speaks for itself, and our players will really benefit at this stage of pre-season from a quality test like this.

“It’s all about performance, trying a few things and putting in place the building blocks which are going to help us throughout the season ahead.”

Tickets for Friday’s 7pm kick-off can be bought from Energia Park on the night, or by [**clicking here**][1].

Following Friday’s match in Dublin the Falcons have a further two pre-season friendlies, at home to Edinburgh on Friday August 24 (7.45pm) and away to Doncaster Knights on Saturday August 25 (3pm).

Season ticket memberships for the 2018-19 season are available by [**clicking here**][2], calling 0871 226 6060 or popping to the Kingston Park Stadium ticket office during opening hours.

**Newcastle Falcons team to play Leinster (Friday, 7pm, Energia Park, Dublin)**

15 Alex Tait

14 Tom Arscott

13 Tom Penny

12 Josh Matavesi

11 Zach Kibirige

10 Toby Flood (captain)

9 Sam Stuart

1 Adam Brocklebank

2 Santiago Socino

3 Jack Payne

4 Will Witty

5 Calum Green

6 Simon Uzokwe

7 Connor Collett

8 Callum Chick


1 Sami Mavinga

2 George McGuigan

3 Trevor Davison

4 Tevita Cavubati

5 Glen Young

6 Mark Wilson

7 Will Welch

8 Tom Marshall

9 James Elliott

10 Joel Hodgson

11 George Wacokecoke

12 Johnny Williams

13 Chris Harris

14 Adam Radwan

15 Simon Hammersley

**Leinster Rugby**

15 Dave Kearney

14 Hugo Keenan

13 Rory O’Loughlin

12 Joe Tomane

11 Barry Daly

10 Ciarán Frawley

9 Jamison Gibson-Park

1 Ed Byrne

2 James Tracy

3 Michael Bent

4 Scott Fardy (captain)

5 Mick Kearney

6 Josh Murphy

7 Will Connors

8 Caelan Doris


Peter Dooley

Bryan Byrne

Vakh Abdaladze

Ross Molony

Ian Nagle

Max Deegan

Luke McGrath

Jimmy O’Brien

James Lowe

Tom Daly

Adam Byrne