Friday 12 September 2014 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons have made three changes to the starting XV from their opening match of the Aviva Premiership season as Eric Fry, Scott Lawson and Mark Wilson coming into the side in place of Rob Vickers, George McGuigan and Richard Mayhew for Sunday’s home match against London Irish (kick off 3pm)

After a highly creditable performance away to Leicester Tigers in round 1, Dean Richards and the rest of the Falcons coaching team have felt no need to make wholesale changes to the squad, as they go hunting for the first win of the season.

The strength and depth available in the 2014/2015 squad is well demonstrated with the two changes in the front row as USA international Fry and Scotland international Lawson come into the side, as knocks picked up at Welford Road rule out Vickers and McGuigan this week.

Sunday’s front row is completed by Olivier Tomaszczyk while in the second row, summer signings Callum Green and Josh Furno remain in situ
In the back row, Cumbrian Wilson makes his first start of the new season at blindside flanker, after being ruled out last week through illness, while the rest of the back row remains unchanged with Will Welch captaining from openside flanker and Ally Hogg continuing at Number 8.

With no changes in the back division, the well-established pairing of Mike Blair and Phil Godman continue in the half backs as does the partnership in the centres between Adam Powell and Juan Pablo Socino.

All four players combined well in the season opener and will be looking to build on their interplay at Welford Road which showed many signs of promise against the Tigers.
The stability in selection concludes in the back three with Noah Cato and Sinoti SInoti continuing on the wings while Simon Hammersley gets the opportunity to make a home Aviva Premiership debut at Fullback.

Tickets for Sunday’s match are still on sale by clicking [here][1] or by calling 0871 2266060 which also give entry to Gateshead Thunder’s Kingstone Press Championship 1 play off match against Hemel Stags at 6:00pm

Sunday 14th September – KO 15:00
15. Hammersley 14. Sinot i 13. Powell 12. Socino 11. Cato 10. Godman 9. Blair 1. Fry 2. Lawson 3. Tomaszczyk 4. Green 5. Furno 6. Wilson 7. Welch ( C ) 8. Hogg
16. Hawkins 17. Rogers 18. Wilson 19. Barrow 20. Mayhew 21. Tipuna 22 Alex Tuilagi 23. Helleur