Friday 30 August 2013 Written by: Adam

The Falcons’ youngest age group team will be in action at Broadstreet RFC in Coventry on tonight in the annual Under-16 Northern Academy Festival.

Current senior academy players Tom Penny, Zach Kibirige and Under-20 World Cup winning prop Scott Wilson all played in this festival a few years ago, and academy head coach James Ponton is relishing what this crop of youngsters can achieve.

“Each year we seem to get a more gifted group of players coming through, which provides great competition within the academy.

“The players have worked hard over the summer and we are looking forward to seeing how they fare against the other academies. The group last played together at Newark in May in a 12-a-side festival and this time-out they will play against Northampton, Leicester and Sale in 15-a-side games. After this event they will all go into their County Under-16 programme where they will be pushing for representative honours.”

Newcastle Falcons Squad:

1 Jamie Blamire (Workington Zebras/Stainburn School/Cumbria)
2 Ralph Johnson (Wigton RFC/Nelson Thomlinson School/Cumbria)
3 Adam Mohammed (Northern RFC/Gosforth Academy/Nland)
4 Cory Wilkinson (Carlisle RFC/Trinity School/Cumbria)
5 Richard Marr (Egremont RFC/West Lakes College/Cumbria)
6 Connor Beswick (Ponteland RFC/Ponteland High School/Nland)
7 Joe Towers (Kirkby Lonsdale RFC/Queen Elizabeth School Kirkby Lonsdale/Cumbria)
8 Lewis Roxby (Billingham RFC/Ian Ramsey COE School/Durham)
9 Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh School/Cumbria)
10 Charlie Scott (Northern RFC/Durham School/Nland)
11 Garry Izomor (Durham City RFC/Durham School/Durham)
12 Tom Collins (Percy Park RFC/Marden High School/Nland)
13 Josh Heap (Carlisle RFC/Richard Rose Central Academy/Cumbria)
14 Ben Stevenson (Middlesbrough RFC/Yarm School/Durham)
15 Ryan Foreman (Hartlepool Rovers RFC/St Hilds COE School/Durham)

16 Matty Crowe (Billingham RFC/Grangefield School/Durham)
17 Ben Parker (Alnwick RFC/RGS Newcastle/Nland)
18 Alex Barton (RGS Newcastle/Nland)
19 Nick White (Northern RFC/Dame Allans School/Nland)
20 Sam Chrisp (Alnwick RFC/RGS Newcastle/Nland)
21 Matty Wilson (Malton and Norton RFC/Durham School/Yorkshire)
22 Struan Kyle (Carlisle RFC/William Howard School/Cumbria)
23 Fraser Boldy (Alnwick RFC/King Edward VI School/Nland)
24 Chris Todd (Tynedale RFC/Dame Allans School/Nland)
25 Jordan Challis (Kirkby Lonsdale RFC/Kirkbie Kendal School/Cumbria)