Wilson earns England tour place

Monday 29 May 2017 Written by: Adam

The Cumbrian shone from the bench in Sunday’s 28-14 win over the Barbarians, and has earned his place on the plane for a trip which sees tests against the Pumas on June 10 and 17.

Both games are 8.15pm UK-time kick-offs, and will be shown live on BBC.

Newcastle Falcons director of rugby Dean Richards said: “Everyone at the club is delighted that Mark’s form for us is being recognised by the England coaches.

“He has been a credit to the Falcons all season with a consistently high level of performance, and I have every confidence he will show well at the next level.”

The uncapped Wilson was the top tackler in the Aviva Premiership for the third season running in the Opta stats, and was shortlisted for Premiership Player of the Season.

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “I’m really excited about this test series in Argentina. It is a big opportunity for this group and we are going out there to win 2-0.

“The players who have been in camp over the last few weeks have done extremely well and the win against a Barbarians team full of top internationals yesterday is testament to the hard work they have put in.

“We are looking forward to a good week of preparation in London before we depart this weekend.”

**England tour squad**


Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

Will Collier (Harlequins, uncapped)

Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)

Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)

Dylan Hartley, captain (Northampton Saints, 84 caps)

Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 8 caps)

Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, uncapped)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 42 caps)

Matt Mullan (Wasps, 15 caps)

Chris Robshaw, vice captain (Harlequins, 55 caps)

Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)

Tommy Taylor (Wasps, 1 cap)

Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)


Mike Brown, vice captain (Harlequins, 60 caps)

Danny Care, vice captain (Harlequins, 71 caps)

Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish, uncapped)

Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs, 1cap)

Nathan Earle (Saracens, uncapped)

George Ford, vice captain (Bath Rugby, 36 caps)

Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, uncapped)

Sam James (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Alex Lozowski (Saracens, uncapped)

Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints, uncapped)

Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 25 caps)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 5 caps)

Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Marland Yarde (Harlequins, 11 caps)


Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario, San Juan, 10 June, kick-off 8.15pm (BST).

Estadio Brigadier General Estanislao Lopez, Santa Fe, 17 June, kick-off 8.15pm (BST).