Ben Redshaw starts for England U20s in Edinburgh

Wednesday 21 February 2024 Written by: Mark Smith

Newcastle Falcons’ Ben Redshaw starts for England Under-20s on Friday when they take on Scotland Under-20s in Edinburgh, with club-mates Jacob Oliver and Ben Douglas on the bench.

Redshaw (pictured above) starts at outside centre, with hooker Oliver and scrum-half Douglas (pictured below) in reserve for a 7.15pm kick-off which is being shown live on the BBC Sport website and iPlayer.

England are unbeaten so far in this year’s Six Nations after winning 36-11 in Italy and 28-7 at home to Wales, with head coach Mark Mapletoft looking forward to Friday’s game at Hive stadium in the shadow of Murrayfield.

“After a fallow week in the Championship, the boys are raring to go and are determined to continue the strong start we’ve made to this year’s tournament,” said Mapletoft.

“Scotland pose a unique challenge and possess a physical threat at the breakdown and set-piece that will put our capabilities to the test. We can’t wait for what is in store this Friday in Edinburgh.

“An awful lot of work has gone into what England fans have seen on the pitch and we’re thankful for all the support we have received, it’s spurred us as a team on and we urge for more of the same in the forthcoming rounds.”

England U20s v Scotland U20s (Friday, 7.15pm, Hive Stadium, live on BBC iPlayer)

15 Ioan Jones (Gloucester Rugby)

14 Toby Cousins (Northampton Saints)

13 Ben Redshaw (Newcastle Falcons)

12 Sean Kerr (Harlequins)

11 Alex Wills (Sale Sharks)

10 Josh Bellamy (Harlequins)

9 Archie McParland (Northampton Saints)

1 Asher Opoku-Fordjour (Sale Sharks)

2 Craig Wright (Northampton Saints)

3 Billy Sela (Bath Rugby)

4 Joe Bailey (Exeter Chiefs)

5 Finn Carnduff (captain – Leicester Tigers)

6 Nathan Michelow (Saracens)

7 Henry Pollock (Northampton Saints)

8 Zach Carr (Harlequins)


16 Jacob Oliver (Newcastle Falcons)

17 Scott Kirk (Bath Rugby)

18 Afolabi Fasogbon (Gloucester Rugby)

19 Harry Browne (Harlequins)

20 Kane James (Exeter Chiefs)

21 Ben Douglas (Newcastle Falcons)

22 Rory Taylor (Gloucester Rugby)

23 Ben Waghorn (Harlequins)