Friday 23 August 2013 Written by: Adam

The festival is an integral part of a young academy players’ development with academy manager Mark Laycock adding: “The games are great for the lads to play in, tough rugby played at a high pace with lots of skill on show.

“Pretty much all the teams like to move the ball around so it’s quite entertaining and gives the lads a sneak preview to what their competition will be like across the north of England as they move through the county representative system in October.

“Quite a few of our Under-17 players are getting a run out so we are looking forward to seeing them in action wearing the Falcons jersey, whilst for a number of the Under-18 players it’s time for them to step forward as Ollie Hodgson, Tom Penny and Sean Brown did last season.”

Falcons U18 Squad:

1 Dan Elkington (Sedbergh School/Cumbria)
2 Ben Wilkinson (Gosforth Academy/Percy Park RFC/Nland)
3 Mark Forster (Austin Friars School/Carlisle RFC/Cumbria)
4 Harry Borthwick (Gosforth Academy/Berwick RFC/Nland)
5 Jon Coser (Barnard Castle School/Durham)
6 Tom Lawson (Yarm School/Darlington Mowden Park RFC/Durham)
7 Guy Coser (Barnard Castle School/Durham)
8 Callum Chick (Gosforth Academy/Ponteland RFC/Nland)
9 Bruno Smith (RGS Newcastle/Northern RFC/Nland)
10 Roddy Giles (Sedbergh School/Cumbria)
11 Luke Davison (West Lakes College/Carlisle RFC/Cumbria)
12 Luke Wilson (Hartlepool 6th Form College/Billingham RFC/Durham)
13 Tom Small (Hartlepool 6th Form College/Billingham RFC/Durham)
14 Dan Marshall (Gosforth Academy/Ponteland RFC/Nland)
15 Adam Redman (Durham School/Sunderland RFC/Durham)
16 Craig Cowan (Jedburgh Grammar School/Jed Thistle RFC/Borders)
17 Jack Beckwith (Barnard Castle School/Consett RFC/Durham)
18 Callum Sheldon (QE Kirkbie Lonsdale School/Kirkbie Lonsdale RFC/Cumbria)
19 Freddie Renwick (Sedbergh School/Cumbria)
20 Adam Barrass (Gateshead College/Yorkshire)
21 Richard Addison (Appleby Grammar School/Penrith RFC/Cumbria)
22 Johnny McPhillips (Sedbergh School/Cumbria)
23 Callum Burn (Dutchess School/Alnwick RFC/Nland)