Falcons draw Wasps and Tigers in Singha 7s

Friday 07 July 2017 Written by: Adam

The tournament takes on a new-look format for 2017, being held over two days at Northampton’s Franklin’s Gardens on Friday July 28 and Saturday July 29.

Shown live on BT Sport with highlights on Channel 5, the 12 Premiership teams are split into four groups of three, with the top two in each pool going through to the Cup quarter-finals.

The four losing quarter-finalists will compete in the Plate semi-finals, while the four bottom-ranked teams from the group phase will contest the Bowl semi-finals.

All group games will be played on the Friday, with all knock-out games the following day.

Under the previous format of regional qualifiers leading into national finals, the Falcons have won their qualifying tournament every single season. In 2011 they went one better, winning the national title for the one and only time.

Matches in the Singha Premiership 7s are seven minutes each half for all games, with a one-minute on-field half-time interval. During knock-out matches there will be golden-point extra-time if required, played in periods of five minutes until a winner is forthcoming.

Tickets are available from Northampton Saints by [**clicking here**][1] or calling 01604 581 000.

The group draw for the 2017 Singha Premiership Rugby 7s is as follows:

**POOL A:** Wasps, Newcastle Falcons, Leicester Tigers.

**POOL B:** Harlequins, Gloucester Rugby, London Irish.

**POOL C:** Sale Sharks, Worcester Warriors, Bath Rugby.

**POOL D:** Exeter Chiefs, Northampton Saints, Saracens.

**GROUP FIXTURES (Friday July 28)**

6pm: Wasps v Newcastle Falcons

6.22pm: Harlequins v Gloucester Rugby

6.44pm: Sale Sharks v Worcester Warriors

7.06pm: Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints

7.28pm: Wasps v Leicester Tigers

7.50pm: Harlequins v London Irish

8.12pm: Sale Sharks v Bath Rugby

8.34pm: Exeter Chiefs v Saracens

8.56pm: Newcastle Falcons v Leicester Tigers

9.18pm: Gloucester Rugby v London Irish

9.40pm: Worcester Warriors v Bath Rugby

10.02pm: Northampton Saints v Saracens

**KNOCK-OUT FIXTURES (Saturday July 29)**

3pm: Cup QF1

3.22pm: Cup QF2

3.44pm: Cup QF3

4.06pm: Cup QF4

4.28pm: Bowl SF1

4.50pm: Bowl SF2

5.12pm: Plate SF1

5.34pm: Plate SF2

5.56pm: Cup SF1

6.18pm: Cup SF2

6.40pm: Bowl final

7.02pm: Plate final

7.24pm: Cup final

[1]: https://ticketing47.cld.ondemand.com/shops/103/2