Jamie Blamire retained in England training squad

Monday 19 June 2023 Written by: Adam

The Cumbrian forms part of the group assembling on the south coast for the second of their summer camps.

Players from Gallagher Premiership finalists Saracens and Sale Sharks are not yet included in selection as they serve out their mandatory rest period, with England’s 33-man Rugby World Cup squad being announced on August 7.

“After an excellent first week’s training, we are very much looking forward to being in Brighton,” said England head coach Steve Borthwick.

“We’re pleased to welcome players from Northampton Saints and Leicester Tigers who can now start to integrate themselves into the group, and we look forward to players from Sale Sharks and Saracens joining us in a fortnight.

“The first phase of our preparation continues to focus on ensuring the players are physically equipped for what we need to do in a World Cup campaign. That means the training will be tough and purposeful. The players are rising to the challenge.

“We’ll work hard again this week, and we’ll enjoy some time together off the field too – which is also an important part of our preparation.”

England’s Summer Series matches begin against Wales at the Principality Stadium on Saturday August 5 (5.30pm), with a return fixture at Twickenham Stadium scheduled a week later on Saturday August 12 (5.30pm).

England then travel to Dublin to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday August 19 (5.30pm) before returning to Twickenham Stadium to play Fiji on Saturday August 26 (3.15pm).


**Forwards (20)**

Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)

Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears)

Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)

Ted Hill (Bath Rugby)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

George Martin (Leicester Tigers)

Zach Mercer (Montpellier Hérault Rugby)

Beno Obano (Bath Rugby)

Tom Pearson (London Irish)

Val Rapava-Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby)

David Ribbans (Northampton Saints)

Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears)

Will Stuart (Bath Rugby)

Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)

**Backs (18)**

Henry Arundell (London Irish)

Danny Care (Harlequins)

Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)

Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)

Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints)

Will Joseph (London Irish)

Joe Marchant (Harlequins)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints)

Cadan Murley (Harlequins)

Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Fin Smith (Northampton Saints)

Marcus Smith (Harlequins)

Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers)

Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers)

Anthony Watson (Leicester Tigers)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers) and Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) remain in camp to continue their rehabilitation from injury.