Premiership Rugby Shield v Wasps: Team News

Monday 10 September 2018 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons take to the road for round two of the Premiership Rugby Shield this evening, with a trip to Broadstreet RFC to take on Wasps. (KO 7pm)

Kicking off the campaign with a victory in last week’s round one fixture away to Worcester Cavaliers after an enthralling 80mins, Newcastle A will be striving to build on that solid start against a side that lost their opening match to Sale Jets.

In a potent backline, summer signing Tom Arscott starts in the fullback berth with fellow senior squad members Zach Kibirige in on the right wing and Tom Penny at outside centre.

Fresh from a first start in the Gallagher Premiership against Saracens, Adam Radwan starts on the left wing while Charlie Wilson completes the centre partnership in the 12 shirts.

Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti takes the starting scrum-half spot while Ireland U20s fly-half Brett Connon will orchestrate the play at 10.

With the club managing an intense start to the senior Premiership competition, the forward selection sees the Falcons field a selection of their own talents whilst offering opportunities to a number of local players to showcase their abilities.

Guest players within the pack include Richie Elliott (Tynedale RFC), Ali Johnstone (Herriots RFC), Joe Lashley (Northumbria Uni and Blaydon RFC), Kieran Frost (Yorkshire Carnegie), Dalton Redpath and Drew Davidson, with the later pair currently playing their rugby under the eye of Falcons legend George Graham at Hawick RFC.
They are joined in the ranks by Paul Mullen, Will Montgomery, Tom Marshall, Simon Uzokwe and Craig Mitchell from the home stable.

Updates from this evening’s game will be available from host club Wasps’ social media channels with a full match report to follow here on the official Newcastle Falcons website.

**Newcastle Falcons v Wasps
Premiership Rugby Shield – 10th September 2018 – KO 7pm**

15 Tom Arscott, 14 Zach Kibirige, 13 Tom Penny, 12 Charlie Wilson, 11 Adam Radwan, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti, 1 Paul Mullen, 2 Joe Lashley*, 3 Craig Mitchell, 4 Will Montgomery, 5 Kieran Frost*, 6 Dalton Redpath*, 7 Tom Marshall, 8 Simon Uzokwe

16 Ali Johnstone*, 17 Rich Elliott*,18 Oscar Caudle, 19 Drew Davidson*, 20 Morgan Passman, 21 James Elliott, 22 Ben Stevenson, 23 George Wacokecoke

* denotes guest player