Redshaw starts for England U20s on Tuesday

Monday 08 July 2024 Written by: Mark Smith

Newcastle Falcons’ Ben Redshaw starts at full-back for England Under-20s on Tuesday when they face host nation South Africa in their final pool game in the World Rugby U20 Championship.

The game in Cape Town kicks off at 6pm UK time and is being live-streamed on RugbyPass TV (free registration required).

England are unbeaten in the competition after defeating Argentina (41-20) and Fiji (48-11) in their previous two games, while South Africa are aiming to bounce back from defeat to Argentina.

England head coach Mark Mapletoft said: “Whilst still needing to refine parts of our game, the team have built momentum excellently coming into match day three with two results we’re proud of.

“I’ve been incredibly impressed with the resolve and mental attitude of our team, they have rewarded our trust in selection throughout both games. Relentlessness in our processes has been a key pillar of our tournament so far.

“Playing South Africa on home turf is no easy feat, and we’re under no illusions of the magnitude of what awaits us. The boys know what is at stake, and they will enjoy that, but focus remains firmly on the task at hand when showtime rolls around on Tuesday night.”

England U20 team

15 Ben Redshaw (Newcastle Falcons, West Park Leeds RFC, 6 caps) 

14 Jack Bracken (Saracens, Barnet Elizabethans RFC, 1 cap) 

13 Ben Waghorn (Harlequins, Chipstead Rugby Club, 8 caps)

12 Sean Kerr (Harlequins, Sutton and Epsom Rugby Club, 5 caps) 

11 Alex Wills (Sale Sharks, Droitwich Rugby Club, 9 caps) 

10 Benjamin Coen (Exeter Chiefs, Teignmouth RFC, 2 caps) 

9 Ollie Allan (Leicester Tigers, Hungerford RFC, 2 caps) 

1 Asher Opoku-Fordjour (Sale Sharks, Broadstreet RFC, 16 caps) 

2 Craig Wright (Northampton Saints, Braintree Rugby Club, 7 caps) 

3 Billy Sela (Bath Rugby, Royal Wootton Bassett RFC, 6 caps) 

4 Joe Bailey (Exeter Chiefs, Newton Abbot RFC, 6 caps) 

5 Junior Kpoku (Racing 92, Saracens Amateurs, 6 caps) 

6 Finn Carnduff (captain – Leicester Tigers, Market Harborough RFC, 17 caps) 

7 Henry Pollock (Northampton Saints, Buckingham Rugby Club, 7 caps) 

8 Nathan Michelow (Saracens, Brentwood Rugby, 11 caps) 


16 James Isaacs (Saracens, Hemel Hempstead Camelot RFC, 4 caps) 

17 James Halliwell (Bristol Bears, Thornbury RFC, 10 caps)

18 Afolabi Fasogbon (Gloucester Rugby, Bishop Wand School, 13 caps) 

19 Olamide Sodeke (Saracens, Blackheath Rugby Club, 6 caps) 

20 Kane James (Exeter Chiefs, St Peters RFC, 6 caps) 

21 Lucas Friday (Harlequins, Bromley RFC, 2 caps)  

22 Angus Hall (Saracens, Sevenoaks Rugby Club, 1 cap)

23 Ioan Jones (Gloucester Rugby, Minchinhampton RFC, 6 caps)