Tait and Tiesi among changes against Wasps

Friday 26 September 2014 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons will field a side with five changes from the team that faced Northampton last weekend when they travel to Adams Park to take on Wasps this Sunday.

Last season’s Player’s Player of the Season Alex Tait makes his first appearance of the new term on the wing while Argentine Centre Gonzalo Tiesi also starts for the first time this season.

The inclusion of both names on the team sheet is a positive sign for a team that began this season with a number of players consigned to the bench due to injury.

Meanwhile Scrum Half Ruki Tipuna steps into the side for his first Aviva Premiership start since joining the club from Bristol over the summer.

Elsewhere in the team Mark Wilson and Sinoti Sinoti both return to the starting line-up after impactful appearances from the Kingston Park bench last weekend.

Versatile Juan Pablo Socino makes his first start of the season at Fly Half having moved into the position from Centre on a number of occasions since joining the club.

The pack remains largely unchanged, with Tighthead Scott Wilson returning to the front row for his second Premiership start alongside Kieran Brookes and Scott Lawson.

Will Welch continues to captain his side from the back row of the scrum alongside Wilson and Ally Hogg while Calum Green and Dom Barrow return to the second row.

A much changed backline sees only Adam Powell and Simon Hammersley retain their starting positions at Centre and Full Back respectively, the latter continuing to draw praise during his first season of full-time rugby.

Sunday’s game kicks off at 2pm at Wasps’ Adams Park stadium. Tickets for the game are available directly from Wasps and the Newcastle Falcons Supporters Club still have a number of places remaining on their trip to the match.

**Newcastle Falcons**
15. Simon Hammersley, 14. Alex Tait, 13. Gonzalo Tiesi, 12. Adam Powell, 11. Sinoti Sinoti, 10. Juan Pablo Socino, 9. Ruki Tipuna; 1. Kieran Brookes, 2. Scott Lawson, 3. Scott Wilson, 4. Calum Green, 5. Dom Barrow, 6. Mark Wilson, 7. Will Welch (c), 8. Ally Hogg.

26. Alex Rogers, 17. Rob Hawkins, 18. Oliver Tomaszczyk, 19. Josh Furno, 20. Richard Mayhew, 21. Warren Fury, 22. Rory Clegg, 23. Alex Tuilagi.