Team news: Williams returns for Falcons XV

Friday 10 January 2020 Written by: Adam

Supporters are advised to note the change of venue and start time due to a waterlogged pitch, with the match originally scheduled to have been played in Edinburgh.

The 23-year-old Williams underwent chemotherapy over the summer and has been working hard over the past few months to return to match action, director of rugby Dean Richards expressing his delight at the centre’s progress.

He said: “Johnny has been through a tough time and shown enormous strength of character to come back as quickly as he has done.

“First and foremost, we are just glad for him as a person that he is healthy and is overcoming the challenge he has been faced with. He is at his happiest when he is on a rugby field, so for him to be able to get out there again must be a really good feeling.

“From the club’s point of view it’s obviously great to have another outstanding player fit and available for selection, but more than anything we’re just glad that a degree of normality is returning to Johnny’s life after what has clearly been a very difficult time.”

Elsewhere in the side, Dominic Waldouck skippers a Falcons XV who have won all four of their friendly matches against the Scottish Super6 sides this season, defeating Heriots home and away as well as overcoming Stirling County and Southern Knights.

Charlie Maddison packs down at hooker having scored a first-half hat-trick in front of 5,484 supporters on December 28 when the Falcons XV beat Southern Knights 57-10, while Callum Chick packs down at No.8.

**Falcons XV to face Watsonians (Saturday, 3pm, Melrose)**

15 Alex Tait

14 Josh Hodge

13 Dominic Waldouck (captain)

12 Johnny Williams

11 Chidera Obonna

10 Brett Connon

9 Callum Pascoe

1 Conrad Cade

2 Charlie Maddison

3 Oscar Caudle

4 Bailey Ransom

5 Rob Farrar

6 Josh Basham

7 Guy Graham

8 Callum Chick


16 Phil Brantingham

17 George Williams (Northumbria University)

[BLANK] Freddie Lockwood

[BLANK] Harry Hill

[BLANK] Connor Collett

19 Simon Uzokwe

20 Tom Marshall

21 Will Haydon-Wood

22 Charlie Wilson

23 Joel Matavesi