Team to play Gala RFC

Thursday 18 August 2016 Written by: Adam

The Netherdale clash is Newcastle’s third pre-season run-out after beating Nottingham (50-12) and Doncaster Knights (34-12), Dean Richards’ men completing their preparations on Friday August 26 when they face Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield.

The director of rugby has rotated his resources for their trip to Galashiels, former Glasgow Warriors flanker Tyrone Holmes making a third successive appearance following his summer switch. Tonga scrum-half Sonatane Takulua enjoys his first pre-season outing after returning from international duty, forming a half-back partnership with Tom Catterick.

Zach Kibirige starts on the wing after scoring the Falcons’ fifth and final try against Doncaster, Santiago Socino selected at hooker in a pack containing Scotland Under-20s lock Andrew Davidson.

Triallist Fred Burdon is among nine replacements for a game which will have rolling replacements, tickets available on the night priced £10 for adults, £5 for concessions and free for children.

**Newcastle Falcons team to face Gala RFC:**

15 Alex Tait

14 Dan Marshall

13 Ben Stevenson

12 Craig Willis

11 Zach Kibirige

10 Tom Catterick

9 Sonatane Takulua

1 Alex Rogers

2 Santiago Socino

3 Paddy Ryan

4 Andrew Davidson

5 Nick Civetta

6 Max Davies

7 Tyrone Holmes

8 Joshua Chisanga


16 Ben Sowrey

17 Andrew Foster

18 Adam Brocklebank

19 Will Witty

20 Archie Erskine

21 Ruaridh Dawson

22 Brett Connon

23 Belisario Agulla

(Blank shirt) Fred Burdon