Falcons fail to fire in Singha 7s finals

Sunday 07 August 2016 Written by: Adam

The Falcons were eliminated from the main Cup competition in the quarter-finals after losing 28-17 to Welsh side Ospreys, and a disappointing day ended when Harlequins were 45-21 victors in the second-tier tournament.

Newcastle had taken the early lead in their Cup clash with Ospreys when skipper Dan Temm’s quick tap and break down the left saw Joel Hodgson work the ball infield for Tom Catterick, who glided his way through for a converted try between the posts.

Ospreys drew level and then assumed a seven-point lead when Morgan Williams helped himself to a pair of tries, Adam Radwan hitting back for the Falcons when he sniped over from close range in support of a Glen Young line-break.

The missed conversion left the Falcons 14-12 down at half-time, Tom O’Flaherty and Jonathan Phillips putting Ospreys out of reach by the time Tom Ffitch poached a late consolation try down the blindside.

That meant a Plate semi-final against Harlequins, Newcastle trailing inside the opening minute when Jonas Mikalcius raced 40 metres down the left wing for a converted try. Gabriel Ibitoye followed that up by grounding in the opposite corner, repeating the feat from an interception as they raced into a 26-point lead.

Tom Catterick’s break with the final play of the half handed Dan Marshall a try on an inside supporting line, but Waters’ second try restored the Londoners’ dominance as they scored on the counter.

With only pride left to play for the Falcons kept plugging away, Radwan sprinting down the left for a slick finish. But the gap was too big to bridge with just two minutes left, especially when Ibitoye completed his hat-trick.

Max Coyle added a late touch-down for Harlequins, although the Falcons did at least have the last say when the impressive Radwan burst over.

**Newcastle Falcons squad:**

1 Dan Temm (captain)

2 Santiago Socino

3 Glen Young

4 Max Davies

5 Harrison Orr

6 Adam Radwan

7 Andrew Davidson

8 Tom Catterick

9 Dan Marshall

10 Joel Hodgson

11 Ben Stevenson

12 Tom Ffitch


**Cup quarter-final:** Newcastle Falcons 17 Ospreys 28

**Plate semi-final:** Newcastle Falcons 21 Harlequins 45