How does the EPCR Challenge Cup work?

Monday 05 December 2022 Written by: Adam

A total of 18 clubs will compete in the EPCR Challenge Cup – eight from the United Rugby Championship, six from France’s Top 14, three from the Gallagher Premiership and South African side Cheetahs, who are competing on an invitational basis.

The clubs are split into two pools, as follows:

**POOL A:** Glasgow Warriors, Toulon, Bristol Bears, Connacht, Cardiff, Brive, Newcastle Falcons, Zebre Parma, Perpignan, Bath.

**POOL B:** Scarlets, Pau, Lions, Benetton, Stade Francais, Dragons, Bayonne, Cheetahs.

Newcastle Falcons will play Irish province Connacht and Welsh side Cardiff home and away in the group stage.

[**Click here**][1] for the full tournament fixture list.

The top six in each pool progress through to the round of 16, where they will be joined by four teams dropping down from the Heineken Champions Cup.

The round of 16, quarter-finals and semi-finals will all be played over one leg before the final takes place at Dublin’s Aviva Stadium on Friday May 19.


**Sat Dec 10:** v Connacht (away, 5.30pm)

**Sat Dec 17:** v Cardiff (home, 5.30pm)

**Sun Jan 15:** v Cardiff (away, 1pm)

**Sat Jan 21:** v Connacht (home, 5.30pm)

**Mar 30/Apr 1/2:** Round of 16

**Apr 7/8/9:** Quarter-final

**Apr 28/29/30:** Semi-final

**May 19:** Final (Dublin)

[**Click here**][3] to buy tickets for Newcastle Falcons’ next home game against Cardiff on Saturday December 17 (kick-off 5.30pm).