Douglas starts for England U19s

Friday 21 April 2023 Written by: Adam

The fixture kicking off at 3pm will be played out at Dings RFC, with entry free for all supporters.

To provide each individual in the 29-player squad equal opportunity to play, a first-half XV will play the opening 40 minutes, followed by the remaining players in the second half.

The fixture against Wales is the first of a two-match series which provides an avenue for players to continue their international development through the England Rugby pathways programme.

The second match of the series sees England U19 take on Italy U19 next Friday, 28 April (KO 19:45), hosted by Bedford Blues at Goldington Road with tickets available online from £10 for adults and £1 for children.

England men’s U20 head coach Alan Dickens said: “While this weekend isn’t a capped match, some of the players selected have never worn an England shirt before, so it’s a special moment for them to wear the rose for the first time.

“The fixture will allow the coaching staff to guide players into the England Rugby pathways programme and see them play in an international environment. It could also be a chance for some to put their hands up ahead of the Under-20 World Championships in South Africa in July, as Charlie Bracken and Sam Harris did ahead of last year’s Summer Series.”

**England U19s first half XV**

1 Asher Opoku-Fordjour (Sale)

2 Craig Wright (Northampton)

3 Afolabi Fasogbon (London Irish)

4 Harvey Cuckson (Bath)

5 Joe Bailey (Exeter)

6 Finn Carnduff (Leicester)

7 Tristan Woodman (Sale)

8 Josh Manz (Leicester)

**9 Ben Douglas (Newcastle)**

10 Josh Bellamy (Harlequins)

11 Alex Wills (Sale)

12 Sean Kerr (Harlequins)

13 Toby Thame (Northampton)

14 Thomas Humphreys (Harlequins)

15 Ioan Jones (Gloucester)


Ethan Clarke (Harlequins)

James Isaacs (Saracens)

Caleb Ashworth (Harlequins)

James Halliwell (Bristol Bears)

Harry Browne (Harlequins)

Patrick Pearce (Bristol Bears)

Aaron Tull (Bristol Bears)

Nathan Michelow (Saracens)

Zach Carr (Harlequins)

Ieuan Davies (Bath)

Ludo Kolade (Harlequins)

Isaac Campbell-Wu (Bristol Bears)

George Makepeace-Cubitt (London Irish)

Connor Cross (London Irish)