Match Report

Leicester Tigers A - 0

Newcastle Falcons - 21

Monday 19th Sep 2016

Newcastle had battled back from 22-0 down to lead 29-28 going into the final play in an epic A-League encounter, home fly-half George Worth slotting the decisive kick.

The Tigers stormed out of the blocks and led 19-0 at the interval, captain Harry Thacker among their try-scorers as Freddie Tuilagi and Harry Wells dotted down.

Tigers added a further penalty to create what seemed an unassailable advantage, the Falcons beginning their fightback when Doncaster prop Joe Sproston crossed the whitewash following a driving maul.

Zach Kibirige added a second as the speedster won a race to the ball in goal, three Worth penalties keeping the Tigers well ahead.

Fly-half Craig Willis sped in for the Falcons’ third try as cracks began to show in Leicester’s defence, the visitors finding a bonus-point fourth try when Kibirige grounded for the second time.

Replacement Adam Radwan, a star for the Falcons in the Singha 7s earlier this summer, looked to have found a late winner when his solo try put Newcastle a single point ahead, but when Worth sent over a penalty with the final play the victory was sealed for the home side.

**Newcastle Falcons Development Team**

15 Tom Catterick

14 Dan Marshall

13 Ben Stevenson

12 Fred Burdon

11 Zach Kibirige

10 Craig Willis

9 Sam Egerton

1 Adam Brocklebank

2 Kyle Cooper

3 Andrew Foster

4 Andrew Davidson

5 Nick Civetta

6 David Nelson

7 Max Davies

8 Joshua Chisanga


16 Santiago Socino

17 Piers Goodwill

18 Joe Sproston

19 Ed Falkingham

20 Archie Erskine

21 Sam Edgerley

22 Brett Connon

23 Adam Radwan

Leicester Tigers

**Leicester Tigers Development XV**

15 Harry Simmons

14 Tom Brady

13 Matt Smith

12 Charlie Thacker

11 Adam Thompstone

10 George Worth

9 Jono Kitto

1 Logoviā€™i Mulipola

2 Greg Bateman

3 Fraser Balmain

4 Harry Wells

5 Sam Lewis

6 Will Owen

7 Harry Thacker (captain)

8 Fred Tuilagi


16 Harry Mahoney

17 Michele Rizzo

18 Ben Betts

19 Sam Grahamslaw

20 Ben White

21 Sam Yawayawa

22 Jordan Olowofela

23 Andy Brown