Match Report

Sale Jets - 0

Newcastle Falcons - 11

Monday 17th Dec 2018

Adam Radwan scored the first of four Falcons tries on the night, supporting a Josh Hodge line-break to dot down in the left corner.

Hodge added the conversion, Sale drawing level when Arron Reed scored for the home side.

Newcastle established a 14-7 half-time lead when Ruaridh Dawson’s quick tap and a couple of pick-and-goes near the Sale line set the stage for Simon Uzokwe to wriggle over from a close-range ruck.

And the visitors continued their dominance of the scoreboard after the break, claiming the second half 14-0, their third try of the night seeing Pedro Bettencourt offloading out of the tackle for supporting flanker Connor Collett to score.

The bonus point try was another one for the forwards when a series of pick-and-goes down the left-hand side resulted in lock Will Montgomery diving over, the conversion completing the scoring.

The result, combined with defeat for previous joint leaders Worcester, puts clear distance between Newcastle and the chasing pack at the top of the Northern Conference, with the second-placed Warriors now five points behind.

Newcastle’s A-Team are next in action on Sunday when they host Wasps at Kingston Park Stadium in a 6.30pm kick-off.

**Newcastle Falcons A:** 15 Josh Hodge, 14 Alex Gilham (Newcastle University), 13 Pedro Bettencourt, 12 Charlie Wilson, 11 Adam Radwan, 10 Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti, 9 Ruaridh Dawson; 1 Adam Brocklebank, 2 Santiago Socino, 3 Matt Talaesi (Doncaster Knights), 4 Will Montgomery, 5 Bailey Ransom (Newcastle University), 6 Connor Collett, 7 Simon Uzokwe, 8 Callum Chick (captain).

**Replacements:** 16 Jamie Blamire, 17 Richard Elliott (Tynedale), 18 Matty Woodward (Newcastle University), 19 Tom Marshall, 20 Guy Graham, 21 James Elliott, 22 Lucas Titherington (Northumbria University), 23 Chidera Obonna (Falcons Under-18s).

**Sale Jets:** 15 Nathan Pope, 14 Billy Wara, 13 Connor Doherty, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Arron Reed, 10 Kieran Wilkinson, 9 Gus Warr; 1 James Flynn, 2 Nic Dolly, 3 Joe Jones, 4 Charlie Pozniak, 5 Rouban Birch, 6 Ciaran Booth, 7 Sam Dugdale, 8 Sam Moore.

**Replacements:** Chris Taylor, Bevan Rodd, Callum Ford, Matt Postlethwaite, Ryan Parkinson, Matt Sturgess, Freddie Veimosoi, AJ King.