Seven changes for Falcons’ Romanian trip

Friday 23 January 2015 Written by: Adam

Fresh from re-signing with Newcastle Falcons earlier this week, captain Will Welch is one of seven changes to the Falcons’ starting line-up for their European Rugby Challenge Cup match against Bucharest Wolves this Saturday.

Welch made a second half appearance in last weekend’s game against Newport Gwent Dragons along with Juan Pablo Socino, who also steps back into the starting line up for the trip to Romania as does Rob Vickers, after a stint on the replacements bench last Sunday.

Scott Lawson, Calum Green and Mark Wilson all return to action, with Lawson lining up alongside Vickers and Keiran Brookes in the front row, Green joining Kane Thompson in the second row and Richard Mayhew completing the scrum alongside Welch and Wilson.

The Falcons’ seventh change sees Lee Smith on the left wing while Alex Tait moves to the other side of the field. Simon Hammersley continues at Full Back while Adam Powell will continue at Outside Centre, partnered by Socino.

Ruki Tipuna and Tom Catterick complete the Falcons’ line up, retaining their places at nine and ten respectively.

Replacement forwards for the game in Cluj are Rob Hawkins, USA international Eric Fry, Alex Rogers, Sean Robinson and last weekend’s captain Andy Saull; while Andy Davies, Rory Clegg and Tom Penny complete the bench.

Following the Falcons’ loss at home to Newport Gwent Dragons last Sunday, the club need to pick up a bonus point win to confirm their place in the knock out stages of the competition.

Saturday’s game kicks off at 5pm local time (3pm GMT). Although there is no UK TV broadcaster, the game will be broadcast live on BBC Radio Newcastle with live commentary on the @FalconsRugby Twitter account and the club’s official mobile app.

**Newcastle Falcons vs Bucharest Wolves:**
15. Simon Hammersley, 14. Alex Tait, 13. Adam Powell, 12. Juan Pablo Socino, 11. Lee Smith, 10. Tom Catterick, 9. Ruki Tipuna;
1. Rob Vickers, 2. Scott Lawson, 3. Kieran Brookes, 4. Calum Green, 5. Kane Thompson, 6. Richard Mayhew, 7. Will Welch (c), 8. Mark Wilson.

16. Rob Hawkins, 17. Eric Fry, 18. Alex Rogers, 19. Sean Robinson, 20. Andy Saull, 21. Andy Davies, 22. Rory Clegg, 23. Tom Penny.