Singha 7s Day 1 report

Friday 28 July 2017 Written by: Adam

Losing 31-10 to pre-tournament favourites Wasps in Friday’s opener, they secured safe passage through to the last eight by virtue of their 26-19 win over Leicester Tigers.

Adam Radwan’s hat-trick proved the difference in a fine display of ruthless finishing, Newcastle having to battle back from 12-0 down after Will Kaye’s interception score with the opening play and Ben Pointer’s follow-up try.

Radwan grabbed the first of his three when a Glen Young line-out steal was worked to the left, Harrison Orr’s converted try putting the Falcons ahead when the big Aussie powered over in the left corner.

Orr’s try-saving intervention set in motion Radwan’s second try when turnover ball saw the winger going the length, and even when Victor Keunen got Tigers to within two points a superb grubber-and-chase from Radwan saw the crucial try grounded down the right.

Newcastle had begun the evening in positive style, winning the toss and scoring the first try of the season when a break down the right saw Cameron Cowell giving an inside pass for Adam Radwan to dot down.

The teenage winger, who had shone during last season’s tournament, did himself proud in the opener, scoring two well-taken tries and keeping Wasps flyer Christian Wade on a tight leash with a superb defensive shift.

But the much-fancied Wasps, odds-on tournament favourites, were never going to provide a simple challenge, and they drew level when former Falcon Marcus Watson scored a solo try with quick feet and a burst for the line.

Dan Robson chipped and chased to give Wasps a 12-5 half-time lead, one which Josh Bassett built on when the winger grounded with the opening play of the second half.

Radwan replied with a slick finish in the right corner from Cowell’s quickly-tapped penalty, but it was Wasps who finished the stronger as Bassett and Guy Thompson crossed for a late pair and a 31-10 final score.

Saturday’s finals day starts at 3pm and will be shown live on BT Sport.


1 Glen Young

2 Max Davies

3 Harrison Orr

4 Gary Graham

5 Simon Uzokwe

6 Cameron Cowell (captain)

7 Adam Radwan

8 Ben Stevenson

9 Charlie Wilson

10 Brett Connon

11 George Wacokecoke

12 Will Muir