Unchanged Falcons to face London Welsh

Friday 10 October 2014 Written by: Adam

Newcastle Falcons have announced an unchanged team for this Saturday’s Aviva Premiership round 6 fixture against London Welsh, as the North East club look to record back to back league wins for the first time in a year.

In what will be the first meeting between the two sides in the Premiership, Alex Tait makes his second start of the year in the fullback position while on the wings, Noah Cato and Sinoti Sinoti will be out to add to their try tally of the season which currently stands at two apiece.

In the centres the burgeoning partnership between Adam Powell and Gonzalo Tiesi continues, with Powell one of five players who have features in all of the Falcons matches so far this term.

In the half backs, Juan Pablo Socino’s sixth start will see him continue a half back pairing with Ruki Tipuna with both players looking to conduct play at the upbeat tempo of recent weeks.

In the pack, England prop Kieran Brookes and Scotland hooker Scott Lawson pack down alongside talented young tight-head Scott Wilson, who makes his third Aviva Premiership start.

In the second row, Dom Barrow and Callum Green remain alongside each other with Green another ever present feature of teams so far who will be looking to build on an impressive showing against Exeter, which saw the man from Norwich top the leagues tackle chart last weekend with 23 made in a formidable defensive effort.

Completing the line up Mark Wilson occupies the blindside flank, while captain Will Welch and Ally Hogg round out those making their sixth start in six games.

Looking ahead to Saturday’s fixture, Director of Rugby Dean Richards said: “It was hard to single individuals out for a good performance against Exeter, everyone played well and as a result all of those boys deserve the opportunity to represent the club again tomorrow.”

“We know London Welsh will be bringing everything they’ve got into tomorrow’s name and are under no illusions that it will be an easy game for us. However, we’ve been working hard this week to rectify the small things from last weekend and will be hoping to carry on our momentum for another week.”

15.Alex Tait, 14. Sinoti Sinoti, 13. Gonzalo Tiesi, 12. Adam Powell, 11. Noah Cato, 10. Juan Pablo Socino, 9. Ruki Tipuna; 1. Kieran Brookes, 2. Scott Lawson, 3. Scott Wilson, 4. Calum Green, 5. Dom Barrow, 6. Mark Wilson, 7. Will Welch (c), 8. Ally Hogg.

Replacements 16.Rob Hawkins, 17. Alex Rogers, 18. Oliver Tomaszczyk, 19. Josh Furno, 20. Richard Mayhew, 21. Mike Blair, 22. Rory Clegg, 23. Tom Catterick