Young on bench for England Saxons v South Africa A

Wednesday 08 June 2016 Written by: Adam

The call-up marks Young’s return to England’s second-string national side, whom he helped to Churchill Cup glory in 2010 and 2011.

The 27-year-old sits on the bench for the 6.10pm UK-time kick-off, which will be shown live on Sky Sports 3. Leicester-bound hooker George McGuigan joins him among the replacements.

“We’re really pleased with how the group is progressing together,” said head coach Ali Hepher.

“We’re developing the players, which is key to this tour, and we now want to see how they perform on the international stage. We want to see a team that doesn’t hold back, that is fearless in the way it puts itself out there, but is also very accurate, playing smart rugby with or without the ball.”


15. Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)

14. Alex Lewington (London Irish)

13. Nick Tompkins (Saracens)

12. Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby, 1 senior England cap)

11. Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby, 1 senior England cap)

10. Danny Cipriani (Wasps, 14 senior England caps)

9. Dan Robson (Wasps)

1. Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)

2. Tommy Taylor (Wasps, 1 senior England cap)

3. Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 16 senior England caps)

4. Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 23 senior England caps) (C)

5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

6. Donovan Armand (Exeter Chiefs)

7. Matt Kvesic (Gloucester, 3 senior England caps)

8. Sam Jones (Wasps)


16. George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons)

17. Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)

18. Jake Cooper-Woolley (Wasps)

19. Mitch Lees (Exeter Chiefs)

20. Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)

21. Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)

22. Sam James (Sale Sharks)

23. Christian Wade (Wasps, 1 senior England cap)